Homo sum: humani nil
a me alienum puto


Last Month's Essay

​​​​Zimbabwe: A coup by any other name

Friday 1 December, 2017

​The path not taken...iwewe neni...


Thursday 30 November, 2017

Cabinet announced...or fake news?  


Wednesday 29 November, 2017
Ghosts of Gukurahundi…the anti-Mugabe presidency?...High Court ironies…


Tuesday 28 November

​China vs. Britain?...Super-rich spoilt brats on social media…Trading political freedom for economic growth?...Categorizing coups…


Monday 27 November

​Bated breath...


Saturday 25 November

Conspiracy theories...poisoned ice cream...an inclusive cabinet?...anti-woman blame game pays off....


Friday 24 November

​People are taking their seats...The Croc is to be sworn in during the next few hours...rumours swirling...


Thursday 23 November

Please watch carefully...


Wednesday 22 November

AMHLOPE MAKOROKOTO CONGRATS MOZEL TOV, ZIMBABWE!...

The story begins today...Change is not progress...apologies and analysis...


Tuesday 21 November

The saga continues...SADC, don't even think about it!...Sit-in at Africa Unity Square?...Solomon Mujuru's ghost...Students?...

Shut-down on Wednesday?...​Impeachment set in motion?


Monday 20 November

One war vet says, "Today is D-Day"...


Sunday 19 November

Fighting fake news whilst playing the waiting game...


Saturday 18 November
Please don't be reading this. Please be at a march to call for Mugabe to go!!!!  Many cities worldwide...


Friday 17 November

Rallies in Harare, London, Jo'burg etc.


#SADCBackoffZim! Please sign the PETITION telling SADC not to interfere in Zimbabwe's affairs.


Throughout the day, you can follow Trevor Ncube's updates: https://twitter.com/TrevorNcube


Thursday 16 November​
Only in Zimbabwe can a bunch of generals with guns be outwitted by geriatrics!  


Wednesday 15 November
Less than 24 hours ago, I received a phone call that there may be a military coup underway in Zimbabwe...  

 

​​Mind Full Entertainment, or, the Media-Infotainment Complex, or,

Random Notes on Watching TV and Reading Literature in

the Age of the Attenuated Attention Span



                                                               Melissa Tandiwe Myambo

 
I.   Does vegging out make you a vegetable?

Of course, you come home after a long day and all you want to do is put your feet up, snuggle down into the cozy sofa and ZONE OUT by watching mindless TV.  But that is not because you have less of a mind.  It is because your mind is so full of all the STUFF that makes modern life so busy, so stressful, so hectic, so chaotic, that you basically want to exist for a bit without thinking.  You want your mind to stop – to stop thinking, stop worrying, stop processing.  You want to reach the kind of unselfconscious state of mindlessness that monks who meditate claim is the highest state of Zen.

GUEST ESSAY


Buddhism in Wonder Woman...

and the birds, the bees, the flowers, the trees, the moon and the stars


                                an offering by Cuppedhands.net​​



JUST CLICK THE PIC



Essay of the Month

Melissa Tandiwe Myambo is an author, academic

and aerobics instructor.